Plant based Munchies

A journey towards whole food, plant based, healthy eating….

Orange chocolate fudge cakes

Leave a comment

Chocolate fudge cakes

Chocolate fudge cakes

I have always loved orange chocolate. I know it’s not everyone’s favourite but wow, I used to consume a lot of it. My favourite was about 15 years ago when Crunchies brought out an orange version. Wowww….my house mate and I used to stock up on them and lucky we did because they didn’t hang around long! We thought perhaps we were the only people buying them!

15 years later and I would get an instant migraine if I tried to eat a crunchie now anyway 🙂 And let’s face it, they are not great on a number of levels. Lucky I can cook!

Early in my blogging days I posted links to recipes relating to red kidney bean cakes and to be honest, I haven’t ever made them since. Today I thought I would dig it out and revamp the recipe. It truly is incredible to me that these work as cakes – with no butter, no sugar, no flour, no eggs. The staples. But truly, these work. And they are a brilliant fibre and protein hit for kids on the go.

I blended some dates and almond butter into a caramel and pasted them on top for “icing” but they are great without it.  You don’t have to make them orange of course. You can just do straight chocolate. Or add in some peanut butter for something different.

Ingredients:

1 tin red kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

2 tsp vanilla extract

8 dates (pitted and soaked)

2 T rice malt syrup

2 T (heaped) cacao powder

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarb soda

1-2 tsp orange zest

1/4 cup orange juice

Process the red kidney beans in a food processor (keep scraping down the sides, you DONT want bean lumps in your cakes :)). Add vanilla, syrup and dates and process further. Add remaining ingredients and process until mixed.

Spoon into muffin tins and bake at 180 deg C for 25 minutes or until cooked.

Author: Rah

www.plantbasedmunchies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

