Plant based Munchies

A journey towards whole food, plant based, healthy eating….

Caramel fudge

Leave a comment

Caramel, the healthy way

Caramel, the healthy way

I have noticed that my blog followers are total caramel freaks. Sweet freaks generally but definitely caramel lovers and hey, I can’t blame you.

I remember as kids we used to make caramel (the burnt butter/sugar kind of caramel) and OMG how delicious was that as a teenager, scooping spoonfuls of caramel out of the fridge. I remember hoping no one would notice how MUCH of it I was eating πŸ˜‰

Today…same issue but a much different version of caramel! So many of you have commented on how YUMMY the caramel is in the slice or the cheesecake so I thought it time just to serve it up direct! Yes. You can thank me later πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

25 pitted medjool dates (presoaked in hot water for 10 minutes and drained)

1/2 cup almond spread

1 T coconut oil

And that’s it. You can add a tsp vanilla extract and a pinch of salt. But the reality is, the caramel is caramel already. You could also add some peanut butter.

And I drizzled melted dark chocolate on top of mine to make it pretty πŸ™‚ But all in all, that’s just dressing. You just need dates and almond spread (which is 100% almonds).
It’s soooo good. I just had a spoonful after dinner and trust me, it is SOO sweet that’s all you need!

 

*NB this is a gooey caramel. If you like it a little firmer, add in some blended macadamias or tahini and freeze.

Author: Rah

www.plantbasedmunchies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

