Plant based Munchies

A journey towards whole food, plant based, healthy eating….

Baked beetroot spring rolls

Leave a comment

Baked beetroot spring rolls

Baked beetroot spring rolls

It sounds uninviting really doesn’t it. Haha. I just called it that to get your attention 🙂
But these actually do have beetroot in them.

I actually think beetroot tastes like dirt. I’m not a big beetroot fan (except for in the Indian baked veggies and the Shredded rainbow salad). But you can’t tell they are in these…the first time I made them my 5 yo ate about 5 of them. Though I think he was onto me last night… 😛

Buy some spring roll wrappers. They are wheat based so I don’t eat these anymore but I have yet to discover if you can do them with rice based wrappers as effectively. They would be delicious raw with rice paper rolls though if preferred.

These seriously take a matter of minutes to throw together because I cheat! I buy a bag of pre-shredded beetroot, broccoli stem and carrot. It’s that easy! Have a look 🙂  I LOVE watching the boys eat broccoli stem and beetroot without really knowing it. But you could easily shred your own vegetables of choice for this.

Ingredients

1 pkt spring roll wrappers

1 pkt shredded veg (beetroot, broccoli stem, carrot)

1/2 cup bean shoots

2 T soy sauce (or tamari)

coconut oil spray

Heat a fry pan and toss the shredded veg and soy sauce together until warmed through.

Wrap the veg up in the spring roll wrappers as per instructions, spray with coconut oil spray (or brush if need be), and bake at 200 deg C for 20 minutes or until brown and crispy.

Enjoy!

Author: Rah

www.plantbasedmunchies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

