Plant based Munchies

A journey towards whole food, plant based, healthy eating….

Banana Oat and Carob cake balls

Leave a comment

Banana Oat and Carob cake balls

I wanted to send some little cakes for my son and his buddies to share at child-care for his 3rd birthday. To do this of course, everything needs to be allergy free! So my task was gluten free, dairy free, egg free, nut free bundles that aren’t too unhealthy. No chocolate, no icing. I used soy milk but it is very easy to be soy free as well. These little balls are…well… made out of nothing :).

I did use some sugar in them which puts them in the “not so healthy” basket for me but it would be easy to substitute honey or agave- you might just need to lessen the milk content because it will make the mixture runnier. I got my inspiration from the Happy Go Lucky Vegan but have changed the recipe.

1 3/4 cups brown rice flour

1/4 cup carob powder
1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
1/2 cup sugar
1 T baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 cup soy or oat milk
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 mashed bananas
1/4 cup rice bran oil
1/4 cup agave nectar or maple syrup
Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl and all the wet ingredients in another. Then mix together! I used a cake pop tin to make my little cake balls, just for something different.
cake pop tin
You fill one tray with mixture and add the tray (with the hole) on top. It’s amazing what beautiful round cake balls this makes. I then lightly dusted them with icing sugar and sent the little guy on his way with his allergy friendly cake balls 🙂
Author: Rah

www.plantbasedmunchies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

